No photo available


Rotary chapter to continue community service

THE Rotary Club of Cebu East celebrated its 40th Charter Day anniversary last January 12, 1981, at Huna-Huna Beach Resort in Catmon, Cebu with a promise to continue providing community service in areas where the government is not visible.

In an emotional speech, Past President Alexander Gaisano, a businessman who owns Gaisano Main in Colon Street and Gaisano Country Mall in Banilad, Cebu City, said that in his 40 years with the club, he considers the group as one big family.

Past President David Sharpe, a Canadian businessman said that his fellow RC Cebu East Rotarians gave him moral support when his business establishment, which used to employ hundreds of workers, was burned down. Sharpe is also a past assistant governor (PAG) of Rotary International District 3860.

When RC Cebu East was organized 40 years ago, the late Congressman Raul V. Del Mar (Cebu City North) was the charter president. Del Mar died late last year.

Another RC Cebu East member who already died was former Cebu City Councilor Ritz Malinao who authored several city ordinances for the benefit of the people.

Past President Elias O. Baquero who became RC Cebu East president twice said the club has helped several communities in Cebu City and Cebu Province. All the community assistance was estimated to worth an equivalent to annual budget of three municipalities.

Baquero represented RC Cebu East to District 3860 as Assistant Governor (AG) twice, District Governor’s Representative to the Philippine Rotary Magazine (DGRPRM), Deputy District Governor for Public Relations (DDGPR) and Deputy District Governor for Public Image (DDGPI).

Baquero said RC Cebu East is a permanent sponsor of the Center for Industrial and Technology Enterprise (CITE), and the club is entitled to recommend at least two scholars a year for any industrial courses to help students of poor families.

The other attendees of the club’s 40th Charter Day were PP Federico Peñaflorida, PP Carmino Ferandos, PP Dr. Tony Y. Chua, PP Antonio Chua, PP Alastair Schurch, PP Joselito Sulapas, PP Joop van Kessel, President-elect Winston Pepito and Incumbent President Heinz Ackerman.

The Rotary Anns who attended were Eva Ackerman, Joy Sharpe, Merle Schurch, Catherine Pepito and Rachel van Kessel, and Alexes Jane Gaisano, daughter of PP Gaisano.